Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Review - Midnight Lies

The Wilde sisters of Midnight return in this thrilling novel of romantic suspense, perfect for fans of Maya Banks, Allison Brennan, and Lori Foster.

IT’S ALWAYS HOTTER AT MIDNIGHT.

The winds of fate have blown cruelly on a family that once had it all: money, power, prestige. The lives of three beautiful daughters were forever changed when, on a sultry night in Midnight, Alabama, a murder-suicide shattered the Wilde family. The girls grew up to live separate lives but now have returned home, each to face a danger no one can see coming.

Former homecoming queen Samantha surprised everyone by going into law enforcement, but beneath her tough fa├žade lies a wary heart. The tragedy that struck her family is an ever-present reminder that nothing is ever as it seems. When the man she loves, Quinn Braddock, a doctor and Iraq war veteran, is accused of murder, Samantha assumes the worst. Brokenhearted, her confidence shattered, she returns to Midnight. Though exonerated, Quinn still feels the sting of Samantha’s doubt, but he can’t forget his feelings for her and follows her. Soon after his arrival, a shocking murder terrifies the town, and once again, Quinn is under suspicion. This time, Samantha will not turn her back on the man she loves—even if it means walking into a killer’s trap.



*-*-*-*-*-*
My Review:

I really liked the first book in the series, but that was nothing compared to this one.  Once I started I didn't want to stop.  My Kindle died and I immediately loaded it on my phone to keep reading, annoying with the smaller screen I have to say but I had to find out what happened next.

This was the second in the series.  And while it was nice to read them in order it is not completely necessary.  The story is standalone as it deals with the second of the three sisters.  And while there are references to the story before it is not necessary to have read to love and enjoy this one.

Samantha is a great main character.  She is strong, self reliant and strong willed.  She is very focused in her beliefs and will defend those she loves with everything she has.  Quinn is a troubled character, he wants Sam but after a disastrous marriage isn't willing to form a life long commitment.  When he is accused of murdering his ex wife, doubts start to seek into their relationship.  What follows from there is some mistaken communication, some learning to trust and two characters that have to realize what it is they really want and are they willing to fight for it.

While we have the ups and downs of their relationship going on, we also have a mystery that is worthy of any romantic suspense tale.  Who did kill Quinn's ex wife, who killed another member of Midnight and who is trying to hurt Sam.  Combine all of this together and you have a non stop ride you wont be able to put down.  I only hope if you read it digitally like I did, your reader wont die on you in the middle!

No comments:

Post a Comment